Menu de navigation

Edit your profile

King, Suzanne

Adjunct Professor

Contact:

  • Telephone 514-761-6131 #2353 Pav. PAVILLON MARIE-VICTORIN
King, Suzanne

Presentation

Suzanne King is a Professor of Psychiatry at McGill University and has been a Lead Investigator in the Psychosocial Research Division at the Douglas Institute Research Centre since 1991. Her prior work on schizophrenia investigated the associations between the course of schizophrenia and family attitudes toward the patient (expressed emotions).

More recently, Project EnviroGen has been investigating the means by which risk factors for schizophrenia, including genetics, prenatal stress, obstetric complications, childhood trauma and teenage cannabis use, influence the appearance of symptoms among schizophrenic individuals and in "healthy" control populations. Using a local natural disaster to prospectively examine the effects of prenatal stress, Dr. King and her team followed over 150 women who had been pregnant during the 1998 ice storm and their children.

Project Icestorm showed that the severity of maternal stress and the trimester of the pregnancy at the time of exposure explain the variance in the children's cognitive, behavioural and physical development. The effects of exposure to prenatal maternal stress were still present among children at age 11 ½.

A second study on prenatal maternal stress, the Iowa Flood Study, attempted to replicate Project Icestorm by following 300 women who had experienced flooding in June 2008, including a cohort of women whose risk factors and psychosocial functioning had been assessed before the disaster, making this the first pre- and post-trauma study of pregnant women.

Lastly, the QF2011 Queensland Flood Study includes pre-flood psychosocial data, a randomized control group using two birth support practices by a midwife, and biological samples from the births collected from nearly 300 Australian women. Dr. King is attempting to integrate the findings of her prospective and retrospective studies in a neurodevelopmental model of severe mental illness.

Areas of expertise

Menu de navigation

Editer votre profil

King, Suzanne

Professeure associée

Contact :

  • Téléphone 514-761-6131 #2353 Pav. PAVILLON MARIE-VICTORIN
King, Suzanne

Présentation

Suzanne King est Professeure en Psychiatrie à l’Université McGill et Chercheure Principale à la Division de Recherche Psychosociale au Centre de Recherche de l’Hôpital Douglas depuis 1991. Ses travaux précédents sur la schizophrénie investiguaient les associations entre le parcours de la schizophrénie et les attitudes familiales envers le patient (Émotion exprimée).

Plus récemment, le Projet EnviroGen investigue les moyens par lesquels les facteurs de risque de la schizophrénie, tels que la génétique, le stress prénatal, les complications obstétriques, les traumatismes infantiles, et l’usage de cannabis à l’adolescence influencent l’apparition des symptômes chez les personnes schizophrènes ainsi que chez les populations contrôles « saines ». En utilisant un désastre naturel local afin d’examiner les effets du stress prénatal de façon prospective, Dr. King et son équipe ont suivi plus de 150 femmes qui étaient enceintes pendant la crise du verglas de 1998 ainsi que leurs enfants.

Le Projet Verglas a démontré que la sévérité du stress maternel ainsi que le trimestre  de la grossesse au moment de l’exposition expliquent de la variance dans le développement cognitif, comportemental et physique des enfants. Les effets de l’exposition au stress maternel prénatal étaient encore présents chez les enfants à l’âge de 11 ans et demi.

Une deuxième étude sur le stress maternel prénatal, le Iowa Flood Study, suit 300 femmes ayant vécu des inondations en juin 2008 et tente de répliquer le Projet Verglas, en incluant un échantillon de femmes dont les facteurs de risque et le fonctionnement psychosociaux avaient été évalués avant le désastre, faisant en sorte que ceci est la première étude  pré-post trauma chez les femmes enceintes.

Finalement, le QF2011 Queensland Flood Study inclut des données psychosociales pré-inondation, un groupe contrôle randomisé selon deux pratiques d’accompagnement à la naissance par une sage-femme, et des échantillons biologiques périnatales recueillis auprès de près de 300 femmes australiennes. Dr. King cherche à intégrer les résultats de ses études prospectives et rétrospectives dans un modèle neurodéveloppemental de maladie mentale grave.

Champs d'expertise

Thèses et mémoires dirigés au département et disponibles dans Papyrus