Menu de navigation

Edit your profile

Doyon, Julien

Adjunct Professor

Contact:

Doyon, Julien

Research expertise

Study of the behavioural conditions that determine the learning of motor skills and neurofunctional plasticity characterizing this type of procedural memory in adult humans, using experimental approaches involving psychophysical and psychopharmacological methods on young or elderly subjects, studies of clinical populations (e.g. Parkinson's disease or brain damage) and some imaging techniques (e.g.: positron-emission tomography [PET] and functional magnetic resonance imaging [fMRI]) in healthy subjects and neurological patients.

Exploration of the role of the simple passage of time and of sleep (nighttime and daytime) in consolidating two types of motor learning, and identification of the neuroanatomical substrates underlying the consolidation of these types of memory.

Differentiation, using neuroimaging and methods of analyzing connectivity between networks in co-activated regions, of the contribution of cerebral structures forming cortico-striatal (CS) and cortico-cerebellar (CC) circuits, and the dynamics of the neurofunctional changes involving these two cortico-subcortical systems in the different stages of learning and recalling a motor sequence or motor adaptation.

Comparative study of the neurofunctional plasticity observed during the physical and mental practice of a sequence of movements, and identification of the neuronal networks characteristic of subjects with good abilities to use IM and those revealed when visual images are activated versus kinesthetic sensations of movements.

Areas of expertise

News

Menu de navigation

Editer votre profil

Doyon, Julien

Professeur titulaire

Contact :

Doyon, Julien

Expertises de recherche

Étude des conditions comportementales qui déterminent l’apprentissage d’habiletés motrices et la plasticité neurofonctionnelle qui caractérise ce type de mémoire procédurale chez l’humain adulte en utilisant des approches expérimentales impliquant des méthodes psychophysiques et psychopharmacologiques chez des sujets jeunes ou âgés, des études de populations cliniques (ex : maladie de Parkinson ou lésion au cervelet) et certaines techniques d’imagerie (ex : tomographie par émission de positons [TEP] et l’imagerie par résonance magnétique fonctionnelle [IRMf]) chez des sujets sains et patients neurologiques.

Exploration du rôle du simple passage de temps et du sommeil (nocturne et diurne) dans la consolidation de deux formes d’apprentissage moteur et identification des substrats neuroanatomiques qui sous-tendent la consolidation de ces types de mémoire.

Différentiation, à l’aide de l’imagerie cérébrale et de méthodes d’analyses des connectivités entre réseaux de régions co-activées, de l’apport des structures cérébrales formant les circuits cortico-striatal (CS) et cortico-cérébelleux (CC), ainsi que la dynamique des changements neurofonctionnels impliquant ces deux systèmes cortico-souscorticals dans les diverses phases d’apprentissage et de rappel d’une séquence ou adaptation motrice.

Étude comparée de la plasticité neurofonctionnelle observée lors de la pratique physique et mentale d’une séquence de mouvements, et identification des réseaux neuronaux qui caractérisent les sujets possédant de bonnes capacités d’utilisation de l’IM ainsi que ceux révélés lors de l’activation d’images visuelles versus les sensations kinesthésiques de mouvements.

Champs d'expertise

Cours donnés au département ce trimestre

Thèses et mémoires dirigés au département et disponibles dans Papyrus

Nouvelles