Menu de navigation

Edit your profile

Cyr, Mireille

Full Professor

  • Director, Interdisciplinary Research Centre on Intimate Relationship Problems and Sexual Abuse (CRIPCAS) http://www.cripcas.ca/
  • Co-holder of the Marie-Vincent interuniversity research chair on child sexual abuse http://www.ceasmv.ca/chercheurs-fr/chaire-interuniversitaire.php

Contact:

  • Telephone 514-343-5968 Pav. PAVILLON MARIE-VICTORIN \ Ext. D302
Cyr, Mireille

Research expertise

My research projects concern the sexual abuse of children and teens, and fall into three main categories. They are carried out under the aegis of the Interdisciplinary Research Centre on Intimate Relationship Problems and Sexual Abuse (CRIPCAS), the Marie-Vincent interuniversity research chair on child sexual abuse, and the sexual violence and health team (ÉVISSA).

The first category is the examination of repercussions on victims and their ability to adapt depending on the nature of the abuse, the relationship with the abuser, the family and the services received.

A second research category consists in seeking a better understanding of the mothers and fathers of child victims of sexual abuse and determining the impact on them of the reporting of the abuse. This research also seeks to verify the importance and impact of support for victims on the adaptation of the child or teenager.

The last category involves interviews with children suspected of having experienced sexual abuse. This research has made it possible to verify the effectiveness of the NICHD (National Institute of Child Health and Human Development) guide in reducing interviewers' suggestive and directive behaviour (so as to preserve the integrity of the forensic interview process) and in increasing the credibility of the child's testimony in terms of the quality and quantity of details given relating to the sexual abuse. Current research is aimed at increasing our knowledge of the child's personal factors and the family factors that can influence his or her testimony.

I am also the co-holder of the Marie-Vincent Foundation interuniversity research chair on child sexual abuse.

Areas of expertise

Directed theses and dissertations available in Papyrus

News

Menu de navigation

Editer votre profil

Cyr, Mireille

Professeure titulaire

  • Directrice du Centre interdisciplinaire sur les problèmes conjugaux et les agressions sexuelles (CRIPCAS) http://www.cripcas.ca/
  • Co-titulaire de la chaire de recherche interuniversitaire Marie-Vincent sur les agressions sexuelles envers les enfants. http://www.ceasmv.ca/chercheurs-fr/chaire-interuniversitaire.php

Contact :

  • Téléphone 514-343-5968 Pav. PAVILLON MARIE-VICTORIN \ bur. D302
Cyr, Mireille

Expertises de recherche

Mes projets de recherche portent sur les enfants et les adolescents agressés sexuellement et se regroupent sous trois grands volets. Ils sont réalisés dans le cadre des activités du Centre de recherche interdisciplinaire sur les problèmes conjugaux et les agressions sexuelles (CRIPCAS), de la Chaire de recherche interuniversitaire Fondation Marie-Vincent sur les agressions sexuelles et de l’équipe violence sexuelle et santé (ÉVISSA).

Un premier volet examine les séquelles des victimes et leur capacité d'adaptation en fonction de divers paramètres touchant les caractéristiques de l'agression, le lien avec l'agresseur, celles de la famille et des services reçus.

Un deuxième volet de recherche consiste à mieux comprendre qui sont les mères et les pères des enfants agressés sexuellement et à déterminer l'impact que le dévoilement de cette agression produit sur eux. Ces recherches tentent également de vérifier l'importance et l'impact du soutien offert aux victimes sur l'adaptation de l'enfant ou de l'adolescent(e).

Le dernier volet porte sur l'entrevue d'investigation auprès des enfants soupçonnés d'avoir vécu une agression sexuelle. Ces recherches ont permis de vérifier l'efficacité du guide du NICHD (National Institute of Child Health and Human Development) d'une part à réduire les comportements suggestifs et directifs des interviewers (afin de préserver l'intégrité du processus de l'évaluation) et, d'autre part, à augmenter la crédibilité du témoignage de l'enfant par la qualité et la quantité des détails donnés relatifs à l'agression sexuelle. Les recherches en cours ont pour objectif d'augmenter nos connaissances sur les facteurs personnels de l'enfant et les facteurs familiaux pouvant influencer son témoignage.

Je suis également cotitulaire de la Chaire de recherche interuniversitaire Fondation Marie-Vincent.

Champs d'expertise

Thèses et mémoires dirigés au département et disponibles dans Papyrus

Nouvelles